The following appeared on the Website Science News Today.

"In a recent survey of more than 5,000 adolescents, the teens who reported eating the most meals with their families were the least likely to use illegal drugs, tobacco, or alcohol. Family meals were also associated with higher grades, better self-esteem, and lower rates of depression. Almost 30 percent of the teens said they ate at least seven meals per week with their families. Clearly, having a high number of family meals keeps teens from engaging in bad behaviors."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author of the article concluded that teens do not involve in bad behaviors if they have more meals with their family. He based his conclusion to some assumption that are mentioned. However, In my opinion, for his conclusion to be justified, answers for these three questions are needed. Otherwise, this argument does not hold good.

At first, does these 5000 teens carry image of all the teens around the country? With this population, these teens do not even represent the number of teens within two cities. And we do not even know if these teens are from same place or the survey is conducted among teens of different places. Maybe all these teens are from same place where the family rules, school rules and the city rules are so strict that they cannot even think of doing any drugs and alcohol. Or, maybe only the "good" teens participated in the survey and one who are involved in bad behavior did not even bothered to do the survey. If these are the cases, then the argument is seriously flawed.

Secondly, the argument solely based on the words of the teens. No person involved in drugs is going to admit it. Maybe the survey was conducted in the presence of the parents and the teen were afraid to report their involvement in bad habits. Even without the presence of parents, the teens might be reporting false in the survey in order to show their "good" persona. Teens are mostly truthful to only to their peers and most of the time like to not socialize with others and fake their real personality while encountering other people. Also, teens might be thinking the survey as fun and due to peer pressure, filling up random stuffs. The argument will not hold water if these doubts are true.

Finally, the author is implying that teens with good grades, better self-esteem and lower rate of depression might not take any drugs and alcohol. The kids might be studying hard and maintaining their good behavior while taking the drugs on their spare time. Or, these teens might be taking tuition classes to improve their grades and because of more pressure of the study and getting good grades, they are secretly smoking to feel better. Also, these kids might be enjoying the bad habits and having fun in it that they have no reason to be depressed. These negative works might be their way to cope with depression, thus not having the problem but gone severely deep into the drugs issue. These cases is going to weaken the argument badly if found to be true.

So, For the validity of this argument, these doubts needs to be answered by the author. Only if these holes are filled and the flaws are corrected, if true, then the argument can be considered and be confidently assumed for other teens of the city or country or the world.