GRE sample issue pool essay topic 39

The greatness of individuals can be decided only by those who live after them, not by their contemporaries.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Witnessing greatness of some individuals is considered as one of the blessed achievements of any persons' lifetime. We have had only handful of great persons throughout the history who glorified the world. While achievement of some was recognized during their lifetime, others' success had to wait few more lifetime to earn the recognition. The prompt suggests that the greatness of any individual is decided by people after their time but not by their contemporaries. I, however, mostly disagree with the prompt for following reasons.

First of all, whether the acknowledgement of immensity of work of any individual is done in their lifetime or by coming generation depends upon the field of the person. People recognize most of the area of achievement instantly while some areas take time. For instance, in sports, the greatness of any particular player is decided by the people living in his time only. Later generations might also agree on that but the success is valued by the contemporaries already. In football, Pele and Maradona were the greatest footballer their generations have ever seen and people feel lucky to see them play. However, in our time, Ronaldo and Messi are the greatest and we have already felt their greatness. They do not have to wait for next generation. In fact, the next generation might undermine their talent seeing players of their own time like we now value Pele quite less than as his contemporaries. However, if we take the case of painting, the greatness is decided by the future generations in many circumstances. To take an example, Da Vinci and Picasso's paintings had no value in their lifetime, while, now, we consider them the masterpiece of entire human civilization. So, the valuation of greatness highly depends upon the area where the individuals achieved their success.

Also, the appreciation of the vastness also depends upon whether the consequences of their work lie in their time or will be seen in the future. To illustrate, the work of many notable scientists like, Nikola Tesla, Archimedes, Galaleo etc. were not considered of any worth in their time. Their contemporaries called them mad and even punished some. However, in this time, their findings have helped us solve the mysteries of the universe. Many of our recent inventions lie on their theories and hypothesis. This is because their theories had no use in their time as there were not many technologies to test and utilize those ideas. Now that we have developed new techniques and are seeking for more, their knowledge has come in use. In contrast, some kings and their fighters won war and united a lot of the smaller kingdoms to built an entire nation. Their work had instant effects and people acknowledged their greatness during their lifetime. So, the decision of greatness also depends upon the time of the enlightening of significance of their work.

The choice of whether the greatness is decided by people after them or by their contemporaries is subjective to many factors and cannot be decided alone by some debatable arguments.