The following is an excerpt from a speech given to the School Board about a change to the curriculum:

"Because the future will be dominated by technology, we must make four years of computer programming mandatory for all high school students. If our students take these classes, they’ll all be able to get high-paying programming jobs and lead fulfilling lives because software engineers and data scientists have the best job prospects and salaries. Therefore, we must educate our students so they can secure these kinds of jobs. Even if they pursue other careers, programming will still benefit them, given that all industries are becoming more technological."

The School Board has received an excerpt about the change to curriculum which is tied to the fact that technology would dominate the world, hence the need to make computer programming mandatory, however the excerpt from this speech is weak, as the argument did not take into consideration some of the discourse below.

Foremost, making four years of computer programming mandatory for high school students may not be viable, as programming has to do with a personal flair, love, and attachment to it. The students may be forced to take the courses on programming but there is no proof that all the students would become a programmer in the nearest future. If a student does not love programming, it would be difficult to assume that the student would be a good programmer. First of all, the school will need to come up with a survey detailing interest of the students who wants to take programming as a course, rather than enforce it on them. Hence this makes the argument weak, and should not be approached.

Moreover, the excerpt contained a clause that the students would be able to get high paying programming jobs, and lead fulfilling lives. Even though most programmers earn relatively well, some still earn a meager income, despite been vast in their field. It is important to stress that in the nearest future, there would be a population explosion of programmers, which in turn would result to low wages, and the market demand would be reduced. The writer of this excerpt failed to establish the correlation between income to be earned in the nearest future, as against a saturated market full of programmers. Since the writers' argument are not strong enough to proof that programmers would still earn high enough. His argument is weak, and baseless.

Also, the writer reiterates that we must educate our students so they can secure these kinds of jobs. What happens to other kind of jobs - Managerial, Business Relationship, Product development, Digital Marketing and Product Managers, some of these roles need not necessarily be filled by programmers. A smart MBA student from Harvard, can switch careers into become a Product Manager, or a Lead Tech Instructor - an example is Erich Smidth of Google, who was appointed CEO, so as to help Larry Page in managing the business - he acted in a good capacity and only left after Larry had gotten enough tutelage from him. There are several high paying jobs that are tied to the tech industry, programmers constitute just one-eighth of the total workforce. "If every one is a programmer who would manage the business" !!!

These points made by the writer ultimately weakens the argument, and render it baseless.

Also, the writer responds that all industries are becoming technological, this is not true, and is baseless, because even though most are becoming technological, you still need the domain knowledge. A critical example is the Health Workers - Doctors, Nurses, Medical Laboratory scientists who in the wake of the Corona Virus pandemic were at the forefront saving lives, ensuring compliance, and risking all they have in ensuring that people were saved from the tsunami of the virus. If the health workers had become programmers, who would have saved human lives during the wave of the pandemic. Most recognition giving to health workers is due to their daunting challenge in meeting up with the barrage of casualties, and calamities engulfing their hospitals as a result of the Corona virus spread. One of the health workers who was involved in such fighting arguably said - "It was worth the fight, and the chance to save numerous lives" Obviously, the future never knew of a ravaging corona virus. If everyone was a programmer, who would have saved the world during the pandemic. Hence, this makes the argument, baseless, and weakens the whole idea.

While the world is becoming digital, global, and innovative with respect to technology, innovation, and idea. Programming is a good course to study, however, it is important to say that it should not be mandatory, as there are other courses of studies that would open up opportunities to all and sundry, if properly utilized. The future would be technical. Yes!!! But the future may not necessarily be for Programmers. Health workers, Business Executives, Product Managers, Social Influence Managers would be needed in the course of the advancing technical world. Until the writer comes up with proofs (strong evidence) that can assuage, and vilify the need to make the course mandatory. The writer's argument is baseless, and should not be considered.