The following letter is from a group of Linford College alumni to the chair of the art department at the college.

"In a recent survey of college graduates, 90 percent agreed that participating in an internship increased their chances of finding a job after graduation, but last year, only 40 percent of Linford’s graduating art students had completed an internship. Skyway Designs, located in nearby Linford City, is the perfect company for students to intern with for a number of reasons: They offer internships in all of their departments, so every student is sure to find work that they are interested in. Additionally, their internships offer flexible working hours. Finally, Skyway Designs is known for being one of the best in the design business, as over 80 percent of businesses in Linford City have used the services of Skyway Designs for their design needs. Given the vital role that work experience plays in a student’s success after graduation, we recommend that our art department require all art students to complete an internship with Skyway Designs before graduation."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The following letter, from a group of Linford college alumni, to the chair of the art department has included the regulations of internship program from skyway designs where the possibility of finding a job after graduation becomes easier. Initially, the argument looks plausible but at the close inspection, it contains a large number of loopholes which are needed to be explicit clearly in order to make argument valid.

Firstly, the letter talks about the survey of college graduates where 90 percent agreed that participating in an internship increased their chances of finding a job after graduation. The argument fails to provide any relevant data regarding how many college graduates participate in the survey. It also fails to provide the actual number of participants responded as 90 percent out of 10 means 9 or out of 100 means 90. It the respondent were 9 out of 10, it is facile to assume that internship is necessary to get a job. The argument also adds 40 percent of Linford’s graduating art students completed an internship but fails to include how many of them got job.

Secondly, alumni from the group of Linford college has been prejudiced in assuming Skyway designs is the perfect company for students to do internship and they present various reasons in support of their position. The alumni pretense regarding the Skyway provides internship in all department and fails to provide various category of internship they offer inside their company. It is possible that Skyway is famous for media marketing and offer internship in that category only. But, how a science students do internship on that company. Thus, the argument should include all the certitude in which Skyway offer internship. The argument also includes 80 percent of businesses in Linford city have used the service from skyway design for their needs. But, it fails to present any germane information regarding total number of businesses in which skyway design offers services. It may be 8 out of 10 or 80 out of 100 services. Thus, it should be made clear regarding their services so that the student may think of doing internship in their company.

Thirdly, it is undeniable that work experience plays an important role in getting job after graduation but it is overestimated to recommend art students to do internship from Skyway design before graduation in the hope of getting jobs without knowing actual number of cases regarding getting job after doing internship from skyway design. It is not included in the argument either the skyway design renders internship for the art students. For instance, the skyway design is an IT company where they hire employee for design new software or application. It is reckless to recommend art student to do internship in skyway design. Thus, all the points should be explicit in order to make argument valid regarding making student to do internship in Skyway design.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now does not hold water. It should be explained with a lots of evidences in order to make the argument valid in the form of step wise explanation regarding recommendation of art students in doing internship in Skyway design.