The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

It might seem logical at first glance, to agree with the argument. However, in order to fully evaluate the argument, we need a significant amount of additional evidence. The argument might end up being much weaker than it seems or might actually be quite valid. In order to make such determination, we need more information and then analyze what we learn.

The first piece of evidence that we need to evaluate the argument is whether the students will like the food served from other food vendor.

For instance, the parent is thinking of replacement of the Swift Nutrition because of his son and his friends are not liking the food served there. The food served at the Swift Nutrition is low-fat and low-calorie meals that will improve the student's health. The new vendor will also provide salubrious food, which again will become students dislike as the main problem here is not the food but the student's not liking the food served. The food served is healthy, but students are more attracted to unhealthy food at home. Thus, even though there is the replacement of the current food vendor, the health of the students will not improve and clearly, by eating the unhealthy food, the student's health will deteriorate gradually. Without the information about the student's agreement to eat the meals served at new vendor, we cannot clearly assume that there will be no health issue if there is a replacement of the Swift Nutrition.

The second piece of evidence that we need is whether the new food vendor will actually serve healthy food. The letter does not say anything about the quality of food that should be served by the new food vendor.For illustration, the new food vendor might serve tasty food, but not healthy food. The Swift Nutrition is considering the health aspects of students while preparing the food by using low-fat and low-calorie food. The new food vendor might provide the food which students like, but not giving importance to the quality of food. Though the students are not eating the unhealthy food from home, they are clearly eating the unhealthy food from a new vendor. This is absurd as the parents are simply spending money on new food vendor with no use.If there was evidence that the new food vendor will provide both healthy and tasty food, we can agree with the replacement of the Swift Nutrition.

Furthermore, there is no evidence about the other students (other than the parent's son and his friends) complaining about food. For example, other students might actually be liking the food. The other students are eating low-fat and low-calorie food which is very good for health. So, we need to know about the other students in the school. The exact number of students disliking the food served at Swift Nutrition is not provided in the letter.Thus, without the evidence about other students complaining about the food at Swift Nutrition, we cannot agree to the replacement of the Swift Nutrition.

In conclusion, we need more information in order to get a more complete understanding of the strengths and weaknesses.

We need to know about the quality of food served by the new food vendor, we need to know about the opinion of other students and also about the student's perspective about the healthy food. And we really need more information if we want to extend the results and agree on the replacement of Swift Nutrition.