The following memorandum is from the business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurants.

"Recently, butter has been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. This change, however, has had little impact on our customers. In fact, only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that an average of 98 people out of 100 is happy with the change. Furthermore, many servers have reported that a number of customers who ask for butter do not complain when they are given margarine instead. Clearly, either these customers do not distinguish butter from margarine or they use the term 'butter' to refer to either butter or margarine."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The business manager of Happy Pancake House restaurant writes about the customer’s reaction on butter replaced by margarine. Only the 2 percent of customers complained about the change and rest are happy or on average 98 out of 100 customers are happy with margarine. This argument is based on a series of unsubstantiated assumptions and is therefore inpersuasive as it stands.

Firstly, in the given argument it is mentioned that 2 percent people complain for the use of margarine instead of butter which is not credible, because the method of survey is not clear and it is also not clearly mentioned that these 2 percent people are buyers of products made up with butter. Even in the restaurant so many type of products are available and the argument is talking about the products related to butter and the data is not clearly represent about butter related products. It may be plausible that the average 98 out of 100 all are not customer of products ready with margarine in the place of butter.

Secondly, the butter has been replaced by margarine throughout the southwestern United States which explained that they already had researched in that area and found the people are habitual for the margarine products. This is one of the major reasons for only 2 percent customers if it is true or it may be plausible that the butter is costly than margarine and majority of customers are lower working class. For example in Indian local markets so many sellers sell biscuits made with dalda which is vegetable oil and the people who cannot afford cookies made with butter they brought dalda biscuits.

Thirdly, there are different modes of collection of data of research such as verbal interview, feedback forms, telephonic and many more. In the given argument it is not clearly mentioned that the Happy Pancake restaurant administrative collected the information. Last but not least the average 98 out 100 choose as sample of whole data represent to regular customers or it includes new customers also. It may be possible that so many customers left shopping from their restaurant and new joined. The cumulative record of new and old customers remains same average sells. It does not mean that the customers are happy with the replacement of butter with margarine.

Finally, the business manager should check the restaurants sells and understand the aforementioned discussion which weaken the argument.