'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

In the given memorandum the business manager of televison station presents an optimistic idea based on current observations. As per given scenario over the past years the company increased national news in late night program instead of weather and local news. the manager observed that the compliants recieved by viewers have demand for weather and local news. Also the advertising companies canceled their advertisies contracts with company for late night show. Therefore, manage concludes that in order to attract more viewers of their late night program and to decrease the lose of advertising revenue, they should restore the time devoted to weather and local news in late night program. But the presented observations are not enough to satisfy the manage's idea.

The first thing in presented statements is about the compliants recievd from the viewers of late night program. But there is no mention about actually there are how many viwers of late night program and from them how many compliants has recieved. Without any statistical data about viwers how can manager assumes all theb viewrs are not satisfied with the late night national news. It may be possible that out of total viwers only small percent viwers does not like late night national news and send bad feedback to televison station. without doing the survey of national news demand any conclusion should not be guessed. Apart from tha, it can a stratergy of other news channel which wants to decrease the national news from this channel and therefore it sent negative feedbacks about latenight national news.

The another point is about the decrease of advertising contracts to the late night advertisers. There may be several reasons behind this issue. It may be possible that the advertising company found that there are less number of viewers at night and for that they have stopped advertising at night. theere may be other possibilities about the price of advertise on given channel. If the manager demands high price for advertise on channel then televison company might be stooped his advertising on channel. It may be possible that the channel has less popular among general people and people don't like to watch it. therefore, advertising companies have stopped advertising. Therefore, there may be several reasons for this. By changing late night show to weather and local news seems less effective to increase advertising contracts.

The another and fianl point is about to attract the customers by changing the latenight program from national news to local and weather news. But there is no statistical evidence about the demand of weather and local news program. It may be possible that the channel is famous in ther states of country and the viewers of other state like to watch the national news at night. Thre may be other channels which are specifically famous for weather news therefore, people may not like to watch weather news on this channel.

Finally, there are less evidences which supports the manager's idea to attract the customers and gain advertising contracts. If the manager has some specific statistical data and evidences then we can think about this idea. But current presented scenario, the given assumptions and observations make the conclusion weak.