The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The following argument has been flawed for numerous reasons and it failed to provide evidence to the assumptions they made in the argument. Importantly i find discrepancy in the statement about local businesses advertise during latenight news program have canceled their contracts.

Firstly lets discuss about the main point mentioned in the above paragraph. There can be numerous reasons for which they have canceled their contract. The manager assumed that restoring weather and local news would fetch the advertising contracts back, but there is no evidence in stating that. Because the reason for not getting contracts would be the timing of program. The manager mentioned that it is late night news so any way there will be less viewers who would watch that. This could be the major factor for canceled advertising contracts.

Secondly, if there is any breaking news in the weather and local news, instead of reporting that airing national news would be illogical. This could be the reason why people are complaining about coverage of news. This can't be concluded by saying only airing the local news would get back their lost revenues.

Late-night news program may reporting the boring national stories which would in turn made people to watch local/ weather news. Receiving complaints about stations coverage of local news doesn't mean that they want news about weather and local. This could be because of any local important stories.

The manager failed to provide justification for restoring local news would get back advertising contracts. Late -night program should air interesting stories like local politics and weather changes over past decade which will grab the attention of viewers in result advertisers will get attracted to the percentage of viewers watching.