Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Political leaders are lionized in any country and plays a major part in country's development, So according to my opinion leaders make rules and people follow them, Indeed due to inveterate protocols followed by the country, leaders should follow those protocols. The most essential quality of the leader should be the persuasion: the quality of convincing others. This attribute alone makes leader to stand out uniquely in crowd. I support the statement that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise.

Firstly, we should understand the meaning of a leader, so leader is the one who understands public problems and opinions and takes action according to them. For example consider Nelson Mandela who is a great leader of our time, who fought for the black people. The leader comes from the people within and understands their problems and represents the people needs in the form of his actions. A leader is people's representative. When he cannot listen to public opinion and perform the actions accordingly, it is illogical to call him a leader.

Contrasting the other view, if leader remains consistently with the principles and objectives how can he address the people? and how can he be a good leader? Supporting to my point in the first paragraph which mentioned about persuasion a leader must inhibit this quality. However, without such major attribute how can leaders form the government? Yes it is true that they should follow certain protocols to satisfy the people's need but without yielding to their needs he can't stand out as a leader.

A political leaders are the ones who form the government, Indeed people choose them as their leader to lead them in a positive way. When they have so much authority to control the government cannot they change their principles for the sake of the people? This question makes the other position of the given issue falls apart. This supports our claim that effective leaders must yield to the public opinion.

I conclude saying that any country's development is based on the government and the people in that country, whereas government is nothing but political leaders. Therefore for the sake of the people a leader should listen to the public opinion and persuade the government to get things happen.