The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a food distribution company with food storage warehouses in several cities.

"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given argument is stating that, even after Fly-away pest control company providing services to the warehouse in palm city faced, they faced 20,000 dollar loss. However the Buzz-off pest control company made only 10,000 loss , so food distribution company decided to return to the Buzz-off company irrespective of the lower price offered by the other company. But the company came to this conclusion without proper consideration and his claims lacks many evidences.

Firstly, the warehouse in different cities can't be compared so easily because there is no guarantee that the climatic conditions of the two cities are similar. Even though the Fly way company did their best to control the pests but weather conditions may fail them which may not be the case for Wintervale city. The argument mentioned about those damages are of last month, Indeed last month there may be most favorable conditions for pest growth when compared to the other city.

Secondly, the numbers which provided by the company should be more detailed that is what fraction got damaged should be prioritized instead of lame numbers. For instance, if Fly-away pest control company damaged 1/5th of the food which is 20% of the total where as the other company damaged 1/4th of the total which is 25% of the total then this comparison would make sense instead of simple numbers. How much of which should be considered here.

Furthermore, the company claimed arbitrarily that their best means to save money is to return to Buzz-off pest control company. This needs further investigation to come to such a conclusion. When Fly-away company is offering less amount, the vice-president should consider various factors which leads to profit. Without proper investigation and lacking clarity the decision to return to Buzz-off company seemed illogical.

To sum up, in order to arrive at such a conclusion one need further clarification and investigation. Without proper insight the vice-president arrived at certain assumptions which would cast most doubt on the conclusion.