The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument stated was a memorandum from the business manager of a television station which appears to be relatively sound at first glance. However, as more light is shed on the issue and more detailed facts are concerned, it is easy to see that the argument suffers from severe grave fallacies in its assumption as well as commits a false analogy.

it is stated in the memorandum that, over the past year, late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. this could have been done by the TV station keeping the mindset of people who either arrive home late from work or whose kid is very small and keeps waking up often. In that case, since the day had come to an end, the focus could have been the national news. There is no clear-cut information provided on this and hence we cannot arrive at a conclusion .

A mention about the complaint of viewers enable us to think whether the viewers were really interested in the weather and local news. this is because, the actual number of viewers or the exact percentage of viewers who complained are not mentioned in the argument. reason of the cancellation of advertising contracts are not mentioned whereas it is taken for granted that the only reason could be the increased time due to national news and decreased time to weather and local news.

Plenty of reasons could have resulted in the cancellation of contracts.First, it is the sole responsibility of the manager to find out a possible cause and to clear them. Judging a situation only based on few parameters is completely irrelevant. providing a solution based on few ideas is absolutely not fine. Expanding the coverage of weather and local news on all news programs is a must since people should always be updated about the happenings around them. In order to attract more viewers, either do the campaigning or introduce interesting thoughts in the news itself. A survey could also be used to find out about the number of working personal, families with small babies who occasionallykeep waking and disturbing their parents. also, only the exposure to local and weather condition will never be an alternative solution.

To conclude, we can say that, before any final decisions are made, too much work is left for the arguer to make his/ her argument more logical and cogent.