The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The above argument is a memorandum from a television station manager. The argument explains how their decision of focusing on national news rather than local and weather news has resulted in a setback to their business. They concluded that devoting more of their time on weather and local new would ensure them regaining business. Thought the argument seems to be cogent in the first glance it has many invalid assumptions that would not lead their decision towards their predicted outcome.

Firstly, the author explains that they received a lot of complaints about their weather coverage over the year they had decreased time for weather news in a late-night news program. But the author had not spoken about what time the complaints were referring to. The customers maybe not be happy about their weather coverage in the broad-day news program.

Moreover, Even these complaints were from late-night viewers, their reason for complaint would have been something else. Maybe some other television channel is offering better news for a lower subscription rate. It might also be the case the quality of weather broadcasting has declined over the year. Further information about the quality of their weather broadcast, other television channels would help the author understand the real reason for the complaints from viewers.

Thirdly, the author mentioned that many local businesses have canceled their advertising contract with the television channel. But there is no single evidence given to prove that this is due to their shift to national news. It might be the case that, the quality of advertising was not par with their prices so the businesses had no option left but to cancel their contracts. This led the television station to increase time on national television as they were not getting any money through local news. Maybe a new news station is providing more reliable advertisement plan at a cheaper rate.

Lastly, the author stated that the television station has received a lot of complaints concerned with their weather and local news. The reason may be a cheaper quality nation news coverage. The customers were not at all happy with their national news coverage and wanted the local news back.

The author did not consider a lot of factors which may be leading to the customers' complaints and canceled contracts rather he was convinced that all of this happened due to reduced time for local news. Better research about their quality, timings and other television station would be helpful to the manager to come with a better plan to regain their business.