The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The above argument is an abstract from a memo written by the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. Their decision to invest more on advertising is backed up by their claim that fewer people have attended their movies in the last few years only because they ware not aware of the good quality movies that were available. The above argument might seem to be cogent in the first glance but has several unanswered questions that weakens their decision.

Firstly, The author mentioned that some of the movies from their production company were positively reviewed by movie reviewers. There is no information provided about these reviewers or how their general reviews are. Maybe these reviewers give a great review for any movie. The author mentioned that the percentage of positive review has been increased in the past few years but did not give information about the earlier percentage. If a percentage of six has increased to eight, Its still a low percentage to attract people. More information about their reviews and reviewers would be useful.

Secondly, The reason for declined people attendance would have been a better production company with better movies. A new production company with better cast and more popular genre might have attracted people to them and resulted in lower attendance fo Super Screen Production Company. These factors have not been considered by the author while coming up with a reason for their loss.

Thirdly, There is no information given about their change in quality of movies and the author assumes that their movie quality remained unchanged only because they had a increased percentage of positive reviews. An increased positive review may be a result of increased number of movies with a decreased movie quality. Producing hundreds of movies every year might result in overall increased positive review because at least a few reviewers may have a good opinion about these movies. But this would not lead to increased attendance as there is a decrease in their movie quality.

Lastly, The author mentioned that fewer people attend their movies this year when compared to past few years. But no information was provided about their earlier years attendance. It might be the case that, Their attendance in the last few years was also low and as years passed the reputation of these movies dissipated among people and fewer people attending their movies every year until the production company had noticed the least attendance this year.

The justification for their decision does not seem valid as there is no statistical information provided about their reviews. Better survey among their movie critics, reviewes, general audience would have been better to know the actual reason for declined attendance this year.