An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The above argument is about a decision from an international development organization to introduce a new breed of millet in the nation of Tagus in order to combat vitamin A deficiency among people in the Tagus. An overlook at the argument might seem cogent but it requires deeper look to show that it is flawed.

Firstly, The author explains that people of Tagus are deficient of Vitamin A but he did not offer any reason for that. It is not given anywhere that the deficiency is due to a lack of vitamin A in food. There might be some other condition in Tagus that is causing this despite the rich vitamin A diet of people. If this is the case, consuming more of the vitamin A high would not help people of Tagus and it would create a financial problem in an impoverished country.

Secondly, Seeds high in vitamin A does not necessarily mean that the crops are also high in vitamin A. There is no information given about the vitamin levels in the crops. Information about any research conducted on the millet seeds would be useful. If the food from these seeds does not contain vitamin A levels greater than that of their usual food then feeding on these seeds would not be any help for people of Tagus.

Moreover, there is no comparison between the vitamin A levels in this new breed of millet seeds and general millet seeds. If the usual millet seeds have abundant levels of the vitamin then eating food with more vitamins does not help the deficiency in any way. A clear comparison table between the nutrient levels of new breed millet seeds and usual millet seeds would be useful to the argument.

lastly, there is no other nutrient information given about the new breed seeds. If they are rich in vitamin A but lead to a deficiency of other vitamins or minerals, Tagus would end up with a bigger problem. Though it has high levels of vitamin A, the new breed millet seeds should also appropriate levels of other vital nutrients.

Better research for the reason for this deficiency would be helpful to identify the problem and to take the required measures to overcome. Without better research the new breed millet could not be proven to be useful. They might end up creating bigger problems for people of Tagus.