A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The curriculum of a primary or secondary school varies according to the school or college. A country can have more that one education curriculum in its schools. These different curriculums use different methods of teaching, use different textbooks and other materials, and may even contain different subjects. If a student was to change from one school to another school he needs to make sure he joins in another school of the same curriculum otherwise It would be a painful experience for 3 to 4 months as the school norms, way of teachers, subjects are completely different. The above claim that all the students who have not yet entered college need to follow the same curriculum in their schools.

The reason for different curriculums is to allow diversity in a country. for example, in India, one of the largest secular countries, people from different religions and different traditions and cultures are often found together in big cities. The way of learning for each of these religions differ. So, Every major religion in India has its education curriculum. India is a country of 28 states. Every state has its own beliefs, cultures, history and its curriculum which follow these. Now, these curriculums pose a problem. Every state curriculum textbooks have great stories written about its state and the emphasis is given on its regional language. And when the students all over the country complete their secondary education they come with distinct and often contradictory ideas.

This regional and religion diversification of students leave them with a motive of disparagement for other regions and religions. for example, a major religion in India considers the cow to be sacred and holy while another religion considers it as their diet. These curriculums in each state focus only on their religion and their culture and when these students carry these to their college, It might hurt them.

A new national curriculum must be developed which teaches the beauty of the country and not their state. This new curriculum must have songs written on national heroes, national monuments. It must include the political and cultural aspect of all the states and religions in a country. This new curriculum should speak no less about culture and must fill the students with patriotism for their country rather than their religion or state. This curriculum holds a country united.