"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the above statements, The author that to reduce accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town should limit the number of mopeds rented to its half. It is also stated that this limitation of moped rentals can lead to a reduction in annual accidents. The above argument has so many holes and several unanswered questions for the recommendation to be valid.

Firstly, the author mentioned that the population of the island increases to 100,000 during the summer months. There is no information provided about the population in other months or seasons. Many people might be visitors to the island who come to the island in summer to stay for a week or two. The author claims that this increased population has led to increased annual moped accidents. How can the population increase for two or three months affect the annual accident rates?

Secondly, the author claims that limiting the number of rentals would affect the annual moped accidents rate. There is no information given about how many mopeds are rented annually. Also, it could be the case that, most of the people on the island own a moped and only a few of the population rent mopeds. If this case is true then limiting the rentals of moped wouldn’t affect the annual accident rates in any way.

Thirdly, the author has mentioned about a law enforcement in a neighboring island of Seaville last year and is using this as a backup for his recommendation. There is no information given about Seaville in the argument. It might be the case that, Most of the population of Seaville do not own a moped and they rent them from moped rentals. It might also be the case that the reduction in accidents in Seaville has nothing to do with the law enforcement. More research about the population, traffic rules, number of moped rentals annually in Seaville can be useful.

Lastly, there is no information given indicating the increased accidents due to population increase on Balmer Island. It might be the case that, The traffic rules and regulations in Balmer Island are far better than that of Seaville. Any information about the recent increase in moped accidents in Balmer might be useful to claim that there is a correlation between increased population and increased accidents.

For the claims and recommendation to be true, better statistical research about the cause of accidents, the road infrastructure on the island and the traffic regulations needs to be conducted. For the law enforcement to be beneficial in Balmes Island similar to Seaville Island, better research about similarities of these two islands including the population, number of registered mopeds, number of mopped accidents, road structures need to be considered.