The following is the memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage weather and local news.In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level"

The memorandum highlights the fact that due to the receipt of complaints from the viewers, who were more concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news; the news channel has suffered a huge loss of business. It could be related to a human tendency of the viewers from ;ocal area. As an assumption, we could not ignore the common perception from the residents of a particular area that they actually care about the things that could immediately affect them such as weather and local news. It is really a natural way of thinking among any group of adults that they usually discuss and are worried about the weather conditions and its forecast for the upcoming days since a person usually plans the upcoming days in accordance with whatever the weather conditions might be; whether it is in terms of commutation or the household chores that are governed by various temperature factors in terms of the storage of eating stuff, organising the schedules etc.

The foremost concern is in reference to the viewer's point of view.Their concern about the local news is totally justified. A resident must totally be aware of the happenings around him/her so as to be mentally prepared in order to face the different situations that may sprout up. If they are totally updated with the national news, it is good for their knowledge but what would happen if some communal riots or political issues may arise and they are not even informed about it. Considering the process that has been followed by this particular television station, the casting of local and weather news served to be a major characterstic of this station but when it disappeared in not-so-much-preference, the viewers started complaining because of the non-fulfillment of the expectations at their end, which was a but natural reaction.

Secondly, the local business that used to advertise during the late-night news program cancelled their advertising contracts with the station since it was an obvious indication that if the local news is not being entertained, then what would be the point of advertising as such. It could actually point out an askance about the advertising contract to be minimised after a while, as well.It was pretty clear to the giant local business that it is totally a not-so-good deal to tie up with the team that is slowly loosing the business.

Furthermore, it must be realised that if a customer complains about some characterstic missing that used to be the major one till date thein it is a serious concern and the things must reversed as per the demands of the customers or viewers and shall not be in-line with their own preferences, which also produced a dull reaction in terms of the profit and and the feedback as well.

Hence, it must be made sure that the channel must restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level, which also guarantees the tested and proven attraction from the viewers to the program. Also, considering the loss of advertising revenues, the business strategy must be revised as well.