The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The clientele and viewership for any news channel is as important as featuring news on their station and in order to maintain the balance between these two the manager's step can be considered justifiable. The business manager's step to restore the the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level is understandable and is correct seeing the loss of the advertisement thus the revenue and the viewership.

The news channel provide the society with the latest news at the national and local level to make them aware of their surroundings and the happenings taking place in the country and their town. As mentioned that they have increased the national news time in their late-night programs means that there was already a definite amount of time given to the national news and there is no need to change that if it is affecting the viewership and the revenue of their news channel. As it is not mentioned that it was the only news channel there and they are obliged to give prime and more time to the national news, they can distribute the time equally between local, weather and national news. The changes were made in the late-night program which shows that it is the peak time where they get the most viewership from the town and people observe the advertisements mentioned during that program and helping them do good business. As it can be the case where most of these people spend their day time minding their own business and viewing that late night program to get the knowledge of their local town news, so making changes in their prime slot program may be harmful.

The complaints received due to the change shows that viewers prefer to watch local and weather news during the late-night program and they prefer sticking to that schedule rather than watching more of national news. So supporting that, the step taken by the manager to restore the time devoted to weather news and local news is correct and should go under. The news channel earns through the advertisement revenues and if the local businesses cancel their advertising contacts then it can affect the TRP's and revenue of the channel. Considering the thought of making more money through these contracts the manager should follow his step and come back to the normal routine.

The manager may have seen the businesses moving to other news channel with their contract as they might show these advertisements for adequate time and the sale of their business may increase. The assumption would have helped the manager to release this memorandum of restoring the things as they were. Each business thinks of their profit and news channels are no different. In order to increase the national news time they can do that in some other slot or program and may not harm the chances of losing their clientele and viewership.

The national news is as important is local news or maybe more, but there is no denying that each business prefers to earn profits and grow. So by assessing the situation and assuming all these facts the manager's step to restore timing of local and weather news in late-night programs as they were before is justifiable and the evidence of previous studies shows that.