"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The Super Screen Movie Production Company advertising director's comment to allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising just on the basis of few good reviews from the public should be discussed considering all the aspects and reasons behind the decrease in percentage of people visiting the screens. The people lost the touch of watching movies at the screens or they still feel that specific number of bad quality movies are still screened there and they no more are interested in viewing them.

The percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about the movies increased in the past year, but is doesn't signify that the movies are really good as compared to any other year. We don't know whether the movie reviewers who reviewed the movies are regular people who attend the screening each year and they only review the movies each time. So the other people who didn't come to any screening may not be accounted for the positive or negative mouth of words and thus leading to increase in percentage of positive reviews. There is no mention that movies made in other years were good or bad and we can't just comment on the few positive reviews which the company got from regular reviewers. As mentioned that the higher number of people used to visit in the past years, thus there is no question that they aren't aware that the production company releases movies with good or bad content.

The director making the comment that people aren't aware that movies of good quality are available now, then there can be the case where they used to release movies with bad quality and people got fed-up of those and they no more want to visit the screening of any new movie. In the past year the company got good review for specific super screen movies, so there can be the case where they still produce large number of inadequate or movies with bad quality. The decision to assign a good budget in order to get the public back to the theatre should be made by considering all the aspects and taking equal percentage of old and new reviewers and not just on the few good mouth of words. The reviews contents are not reaching the prospective viewers and that can be the case where they no more have any interest to watch any of the production company movie and they trust their old instincts that the quality of these reviews is till same as the people reviewing them are the same old ones who did it in the past years.

The director seeks to bring back the audience back to the screens and thus by allocating a good amount of budget he is right in some sense. They need better advertising and people should be made aware that they are screening movie with really good content and they can see the reviews and judge them themselves. The production company will lose their profits and regular audience if they are not able to reach the stage where enough number of people come and visit the screen and share the good word of mouth to others.

The arguments and assumptions made here can prove to be a better judging tool in order to see whether the step to invest greater share of budget next year is right one or needed some second thoughts. Making a decision on the basis of only few reviews and not considering other reason behind decrease in the percentage of people visiting the screen can be doubted and should be considered again.