A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

Nepal and United States are two of the oldest countries in the world and they have two complete different cultural history. Nepal being famous for old way treatments to the problem and wheres US seeks a scientific solution to it. We all know, tooth decay can be a big problem for any individual and may lead eventually to a tooth loss and thus this problem can be seen from two different perspectives in these two countries.

As mentioned the children in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children in United States and their can be numerous factors behind that call.One making a statement saying regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay may be presumptuous. The tooth decay are caused due to snacking, bacteria and eating lots of sweet items. The children in Nepal may not be accessible to the same amount and different types of snacks and deserts as the children in United States. Nepal is a very small country and they do not have as good economy as US, which has Wall mart and other grocery stores on the each corner of the road. Thus the people in US spends a lot on their food and try different cuisines. On the other hand, children of Nepal are deceived of these assets and thus they do not have many options for snacks and sweets, and their economy doesn't offer a luxurious life to a each family.

Nepal and US are in two different regions of a world map. Nepal being famous for their household remedies and solutions to the problems whereas US doesn't have a such luxury, US has advanced in technology and seeking solutions using medicines and drugs which are way more costlier and may not be that effective. The people in Nepal seek the solution by using these homemade remedies which are proven to be effective and thus they do not seek a professional care. This luxury being absent in US leaves an individual with no option other than seeking a dentist and getting a treatment. The fact that a person in United states see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year is majorly due to this reason.

Regular dental care helps an individual with to seek the progress and to get the best status of their well being and thus they visit their dentists regularly. Tooth decay is a long treatment process and needs a regular checkup in order to finish it from the root level, and the regular visits to a dentist is the only solution in United States which people have. The people in Nepal have very few professional dental cares and thus they can't visit them regularly and get the status of their problem. The tooth decay being caused majorly due to irregular eating and not taking proper care of them can be seen as the major cause of more regular dental visits in US as the people there divulge themselves into these habits. The children in Nepal brushes their teeth via naturally made pastes which are more efficient then the synthetic one's made in US probably.

So if a person visit a dental care regularly doesn't prove that the dental institution is not able to solve the problem. There can be various other factors which leads to a tooth decay problem and they should be noted down before making this judgement.