The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The argument, given states that to keep a good viwers count and to maintain the revenues by advertising contracts by local business, the news channel should include weather and local news. several assumptions are made which can be supported by providing evidences to make them valid.

The complaints that are made by viewers that, weather and local news aren't included are assumed to be the viewers of the late-night news. The complaints, can be for the channel as a whole, there is no evidence that the viewers are complaining for the late-night news itself and not for the other news telecasts throughout the day. if the news-channel can provide evidence as a survey of the viewers who follow the late-night news can serve as an evidence to support their claim that complaints are for the late-night news. also, there is no evidence regarding the inclusion of weather and local news in the news telecasted other time different than the late-night news. if the viwers complaint is for not including weather and local news in any of the channel's news telecats then ít will most weaken the argument.

The argument also assumes that including weather and local news will provide more revenue through advertisements. In reality the advertisement contracts are dependent on the number of viewers to a channel and the number of times the advertisement is repeated in a particular time frame. there is no mention of the advertisements being telecasted during the late-night news, pertaining to the local business. Adding the weather and local news will have no effect on the local business offering more advertisemnts to the channel. if there was an evidence that, they will be telecasting the advertisements along with the local news- which will attract local viewers, inturn helping the local busineess through the advertisements will help strengthen the argument.

In conclusion the argument made has assumed several factors at the same time missed on a few evidences which would have strongly supported their claims. By providing the above mentioned evidences and clearing the doubts about the assumptions made will help strenghten the argument.