The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author argues here that Monarch book which have been established twenty years ago on the same place should now open a cafe in its store resulting in attracting more customer and better compete with Regal Books. The argument provide poor examples and fails to mention several key factor of which it could be evaluated. The author claim to compete the Regal Book which was the book store and open a café without any ground. Moreover he assert that the store will have less children costumer with the ground that population census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of population under age ten.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that percentage of children customer will be exiguous. Likewise on the basis that the population census of the age below 10 is declining. The author plans to supplant the children books section in the store with the café. The assumption is merely with the solid ground. The argument fails to research the current percentage of children costumer in the store. Moreover if, the children costumer is high on the store it is the serious loss for the Monarch Book because the costumer in café are unlikely to be children and if children costumer are restricted it will surely cause loss.

Second the argument never address that there may be other café around the Monarch book. There might be other Cafe around the Monarch Book with large customer base. And if there will be so then there might be no benefit or profit rather than go in loss regarding the café. So, the Monarch should research about the cafe around it.

Finally, the argument claim that Monarch will attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café. The direct comparison of Regal Books might not be germane without an evidence. The Regal Books might have more costumer that Monarch previously had. The Regal Books might be such place where the costumer might be high. So, it shouldn’t be claim that Monarch will attract more costumer and Regal Books without the concrete evidence.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide clear concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a detailed analysis of feasibility to establish café in Monarch Book Store. Finally, to better assess the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about percentage of children costumer, the café around the store and Regal Books.