The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid—a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil—as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The writer of the newsletter has concluded that the absenteeism in schools and workplaces will significantly reduce if people use Ichthaid- a supplement derived from fish oil to prevent the cold. However, the author does not provide sufficient evidence to conclude that the daily use of Ichthaid will lead to prevention of cold which will subsequently result in higher attendance in schools and workplaces.

To suggest the method to prevent cold, the newsletter mentions the study reports of East Maria that suggests the higher fish consumption in the city. But, the study does not indicate the actual population of the city and what fraction of the population actually includes fish in their regular diet.Thus, the author needs to collect more detailed statistics related to fish consumption in the East Meria. Moreover, the study also states that the people of East Meria visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. This statement is clearly insubstantial as it relies on the assumptions that the people from the other region visit the doctor more frequently for the treatment of cold and all the individuals who are suffering from cold visit the doctor for treatment. However, there is no data about how many people visit the doctor in other cities. Also, the assuming all the people suffering from cold seeks medical attention is invalid as cold is a minor ailment that usually people don't even bother to see the doctor.

Secondly, the author claims that the primary reason for the absences from school and work is cold. To safely conclude that the author needs to provide the statistics of the reasons of people opting to take a leave. Even if the author provides the data for the reason of leave, we can not conclude that the major reason is cold as a lot of people lies on the paper to take a day to themselves.

Even if we believe that the major reason for absenteeism is cold and fish is helpful to prevent the cold, the claim that the use of Ichthaid will avoid the cold is insubstantial as we don't know if the particular nutritional supplement derived from the fish oil - Ichthaid is responsible for preventing cold. It is possible that even if the Ichthaid prevents cold, it is responsible for other health issues if taken on regular basis. The author needs to provide the lab results confirming the safety, and effectiveness of Ichthaid on cold to safely claim that the daily use of the substance will prevent the cold and subsequently lower absenteeism.

Thus, more evidence is required tho support the claim that the daily use of Ichthaid will reduce the problem of absenteeism in schools and offices.