"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The advirtising direction of super screen movie production presents his speculation about the low number of viewers of its production despite of having positive reviews from reviewers for specific movies. This position is based on an assumption, there is a lacking of advirtising and promotion of the movies. I am taking exception for several reosons.

The direction here talked about the increasing percentage of positive reviews from movie reviewers for certain movies. But does not mentioned the percentage rate and how much the positive review rate has increased. Without the clarification of the increasing percentage, the director can not explain the situation clearly that supports his conclusion.

Again, despite of having increased percentage of positive reviews, these are for a specific movies. That means, the target audiences of these movies are of the specific kinds, like of specific genre, not general. So, it explains well why fewer people attended the movies than any other years. If the movie is produced for a specific targeted audience, then more advirtising of that particular kind of movies cannot increase the general viewers.

Furthermore, the marketing department present the report of only the past year, but there is no report or survey which presents the scenerion of several years. There is a possibility that in other years, the quality and content of the production were quite satisfiable. Or there is also anothe probable scenerio that the content of the production of that company is not up to the mark for general viewers. Acknowledging that, most of the general people did not want to attend the movies of that company. So ignoring the content and quality of the movies will not helpful at all. The marketing department should also make a survey about the reaction of the attended viewers about the quality in general, not for the specific movies and also what the general viewers expectected content.

In conclusion, only allocating great share of budget to the advirtisement cannot help to reach to the prospective viewers. To achieve this goal, the company should also consider more probable scenarios mentioned above apart from the current assumption.