"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument says that despite the positive reviews and quality of the movies, fewer people watched Super Screen-produced movies. It attributes this effect to the lack of awareness among public that movies of good quality are available. That means, public are not watching the movies thinking that there are no good movies available. This argument raises many questions that are unanswered.

Is the genre of the movies in the past year produced by Super Screen movies universal? It is not mentioned anywhere in the argument about the genres of the movies it released in the past year. The movies, which are released in the past year, may cater to only a few sections of the society. So, they are not able to attract the large part of the society. According to the argument, it is clear that quality of the movies is good through the positive reviews. People may not a watch a film if it is not their interest. Most of the people may fear horror movies. Inspite of the movie is good, people will prefer not to watch a horror movie. In that case, producing the movies which attracts large number of audience is the solution to increase the number of people attending to the Super Screen-produced movies but not increasing the budget of advertising.

Is the advertisement broadcasted to the right people? It needs to be considered that movies has to be broadcasted to right people. If a movie based on love is broadcasted to old or children then they would be least interested in attending it. If Devotional movie is broadcasted to the youth then they would be least interested in attending it. In this case, It is better to evaluate whether the movie is being advertised to the right audience. Increasing the budget of advertising is not a viable solution if the advertisement is not directed towards the right audience of a movie.

Is watching the movies in the past year same expensive as watching the movie in previous years? It is very important that economic conditions govern people's choice of watching movies. If there two good movies and out of which one is less expensive than the other, then large number of people prefer to watch movie which is less expensive. The movies which are released in the past year may be 3D-movies which require an additional buying of 3D-glasses. Buying a 3D-glasses might be an expensive option for most number of common people. There might be increase in ticket prices of the produced by Super-Screen movies as the run time of the movie is more. In both of these cases, economic factors affect the selection of a movie by a common man. In order to increase the audience, it is better to make movies by keeping the price of the ticket in mind not increasing the budget of the advertising.

Answers for all the above questions will help in determining the root cause of why fewer people attending the to the movies produced by Super-Screen movies.