Green tea has long been hailed as an excellent source of antioxidants, powerful anti-aging and immune-system boosting compounds. Many people therefore believe that the more cups they consume each day, the greater the benefits. Green tea, however, contains moderate amounts of caffeine, a stimulant that is not without side effects, including sleeplessness, irritability, and headaches. A long-term study has found that those who drink more than three cups of green tea a day are likely to have symptoms similar to those that chronic coffee drinkers, another source of caffeine, suffer. Therefore, it is important that anyone who chooses to drink green tea limit their intake to no more than two cups a day.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The arguement mainly emphasize on moderating the daily consumption of green tea by a person. Although there are some stimulating points made in the arguement, but these arguement falls short in some aspects.

Firstly, the arguement that green tea containing moderate amounts of caffeine cannot be argued, but it is not stated that who was the manufacturer of the batch of green tea taken into the arguement. There are many manufacturers of green tea with different manufacturing processes for it's production. These manufacturers can easily claim to have added some other ingredients with the green tea that mitigates the effect of caffeine present in the green tea.

Secondly, the arguement fails to mention the current physical and mental condition of the subjects taken into the study. There is a significant chance that many of the subjects observed in this study could have serious health condition and are currently under some medication, or that many of the subjects were taken so that the test results could be manipulated. And there are many other scenarios which could be thought upon that are just based on the above pretense.

And even if the tests subjects taken fairly into the account, the symptoms observed in the subjects affected were not mentioned. In the above arguement, the clear symptoms for excessive caffeine consumption were mentioned, but in the study, the arguement mentioned symptoms similar to the symptoms of the former. The arguement seems to be very vague in proving it's point.

As stated before, there are some valid arguements made in the arguement, but in order to strengthen it, a thorough study must be done on considerable amount of groups and different brands of green tea in order to provide fruitful results.