Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands were extinct. Previous archaeological findings have suggested that early humans generally relied on both fishing and hunting for food; since archaeologists have discovered numerous sites in the Kaliko Islands where the bones of fish were discarded, it is likely that the humans also hunted the mammals. Furthermore, researchers have uncovered simple tools, such as stone knives, that could be used for hunting. The only clear explanation is that humans caused the extinction of the various mammal species through excessive hunting.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In the given argument author suggests that humans caused the extinction of the various mammal species through excessive hunting. The author proves his contention through the archaeologists’ and researchers' findings. Although the archaeologists’ and researchers’ findings do support his theory, several questions can be raised about the author's generalisation that humans’ excessive hunting is the reason for extinction of the various mammal species. Moreover, there could be many other reasons why several mammal species got extinct; these have been addressed in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, the author states that humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands 7000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands were extinct. The author has held humans reprehensible for the extinction of mammals, although there are many other possibilities for their extinction. Natural calamities like forest fire, earthquake, volcanic eruption can also be the reasons for extinction of mammal species. Thus, the author needs to verify whether there is an alternative explanation for his claim.

Afterwards, the author has mentioned, archaeological findings which suggest that the early humans generally relied on both fishing and hunting for food, from the findings of discarded bones of fish in numerous sites of Kaliko Islands. The archeologists have inferred from the findings of discarded bones of fish that early humans hunted mammals along with fishes for food. Like fishes, the archaeologists didn’t find the discarded bones of the mammals. Hence, it is possibly true that early humans never hunted the mammals for food.

Lastly, the author bases his conclusion by providing additional information that researchers have found simple tools, such as stone knives, that could be used for hunting. However, it is also possible that humans used them for different purposes like truncating trees, chopping vegetables, etc. rather than the hunting of mammals. And, if this is true, then humans could not be held responsible for their extinction.

Finally, it may be concluded that if the above-mentioned cases were to be true then humans might never have hunted the mammals. The author of this argument needs to work on the alternative explanations stated above before claiming humans for the extinction of the various mammal species by excessive hunting.