An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In brief, the author of this paragraph mentions that the impoverished nation of Tagus suffers from Vitamin A deficiency. In turn, an international development organization has created a new breed of millet to combat this deficiency. The argument is made that this millet should be readily adopted by citizens and promoted heavily by the government, since millet is a crop that is already a staple food and it will help combat the Vitamin A deficiency in the Tagus region. This argument is undermined by several claims that are made in the passage.

To begin with, we don't have much information on this international organization. We need to know what their main goal is? We also need to know how specifically are they committed to the Tagus region and improving the impoverished position the citizens are in. We also need to know, because they engineered this millet, are they looking for some sort of profit or gain on their end. In answering these questions we can better understand this international development organization and how committed they are to solving this issue in Tagus by continuing to produce the millet. If the government were to partner with this organization, then we want to know that there would be some continuity or permanence in their solution.

We also don't know much about this reengineered millet? Has this new millet been tested in research facilities or on a small sub-group of the Tagus/people similar in genetics to the Tagus? How effective has it been in these case studies or research? In answering these questions, we will better be able to evaluate whether these new millets are worth the higher costs for farmers and will provide the relief that this international development org is processing. Additionally, through this testing we will also be able to gauge the reaction of the Tagus or of similar individuals to genetically modified goods/reengineered goods. Although millet is a staple food, it may not be the case that the Tagus people will be accepting of a slightly modified millet, whose contents and modifications are unknown.

In conducting our testing, it would also be important to better understand the mindset of the Tagus people either through surveys, observations, or first-hand interviews. Through these evaluations we could better understand how open are the Tagus people to reengineered goods? How open are they change? How conservative or liberal is their culture and are there major differences between men and women or young and old? Through these surveys we may find that is Vitamin A deficiency is such a dire case that the Tagus people are willing to try anything new to fix their community. Or perhaps they are struggling under major political violence, so this is really not a first priority. Understanding the social context is crucial to a new implementation.

Even if they society were to be accepting of the new crops and although farmers are being paid subsidies, it simply may not be that easy to execute the production of new crops. Perhaps there are things that we are unaware of regarding the crops - Do farmers have the correct resources to farm this type of millet? Will they need more land and are they able to find that? Do farmers needs to learn any new skills to farm this crop and are they willing to do that? Will farmers be able to upkeep their profit with this new kind of millet? Answering these questions will help us understand the ability of farmers to even implement a new millet, despite whether they agree to change the millet they farm.

Finally, I think it is important to reflect on the government and the promotion. Even if the Tagus community were to realize that this crop is effective and they want to advocate for its use, the government may not necessarily agree. We also need to build a better understanding of what the government's concerns really are - Do they have other priorities? Do they have the money for this promotion? How costly will this partnership be in giving out subsidies? What needs to be cut to provide these subsidies. Although government's goal is to provide for the people , there is so much more to politics than what meets the eye.

Almost every single sentence of this argument is flawed and has several questions that need to be answered prior to portraying a strong argument that government should step in and promote this new millet.