The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, the author describes a survey that is taken at Oceania University regarding free tuition for the retention of faculty and applies it to another University, claiming that this free tuition policy will lead to boosted morale among current faculty and increased appeal for newly acquired talent. This argument is lacking due to several weak claims that lack proper evidence in support of the argument.

In this first sentence itself we are told that this is a study conducted at a nearby University named Oceania. We need further evidence regarding the study itself and the similarities between Oceania and Seatown other than just the location. If the universities greatly differ in size and focus, the conclusions at Oceania may not be applied to a smaller or larger school such as Seatown. Additionally, we need a better understanding of who was studied and what questions were asked. If the questions weren't even asked to faculty then how can we make assumptions about them? We also don't know any information as to changes in retention at Oceania. If there were high changes in the retention rate and if we find the two universities to be pretty similar, then the argument for free tuition is strengthened, but not otherwise.

Weak claims are also made about talent acquisition. We aren't told much about what matters to faculty when they are hired. Is having free tuition for their children really crucial for them? If so, then implementing this is definitely something Seatown should do. In addition, claims are made about the morale of employees, but there is no mention of that from the study at Oceania. All we know from the study is that faculty retention was shown to be higher, but that doesn't necessarily imply boosted morale. If the study showed that there was boosted morale, that would be an added benefit to Seatown, but only if that is a part of their ultimate goals.

Last, we need to understand Seatown's goals, before we even consider the implementation of a new measure such as free tuition. There are three main directions this could go: Seatown could be focused on retention of current faculty, seatown could be focused on acquisition, or seatown could not be focused on any of those things and thus this study would be irrelevant. If the goals are either option 1 or option 2, the next step would be to better understand Seatown's target audience (new faculty or existing faculty or both) and then analyze their needs in being kept at the university or being acquired. If we for example find the goal is retention and we know Seatown staff are upset at the benefits they are being offered currently, this could be a nice boost in terms of benefits and morale, since this is a huge load off their wallets.

Overall, we need to validate Seatown's goals, their target audience(s), and better understand the relationship between Oceania and Seatown in order to understand if a study at Oceania can really be used at Seatown. Doing the three things above, would strengthen the argument and allow the claims to validate the free tuition study.