People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Many people believe that decision making should be made with a logical list of pros and cons and that no matter how emotional of a decision you have to make it's important to have solidified reasoning. However, sometimes that is just not that case, because human nature is flawed and we make decisions based on our moods that day, based on how little or how much we value society's opinions, based on whose opinions matter the most to us - there is a lot at play in decision making! And sometimes, what may be considered a smart decision for one person may not be for another. For some decisions and for certain circumstances being spontaneous or "going with your gut" is important and in other cases, it's important to think about the future implications of your decision. It's all highly contextual.

There are time when one shouldn't avoid the logic of an argument and be blindsided with their emotional involvement in something. This could be something that is causing negativity in your life, like an abusive or violent relationship. Oftentimes, men or women are not aware of the signs and continue to be in a relationship out of love for their partner. But in those cases, decision-making based on emotion is wrong and shouldn't be justified. As is the case when you know you're making a bad decision for yourself or are pushing yourself way too hard. Staying up every night till 5am may not be the best decision for your mental health, although it might be for your friend. Or vice versa. Making decisions in anger or haste is poor decision making and should be carefully thought out. At least that is the case in reality. However, in the lives of celebrities, this hasty decision making is often what leads to infamy, such as a "crazy night on the town" or a "31 day marriage" in the case of Kim Kardashian. Some of these illogical decisions have imposed them to be on a platform where they are constantly watched. That way, even they are successful and making smart career moves, there continues to be that following - such as the case with Kim and her new business.

Decision making with emotions is also really smart in those cases where you really need to "go with your gut" and understand how you're feeling about something. In these cases, there is often no right or wrong answer - such as picking the right job for you or the right college - oftentimes, no matter how much logic you use and how many pros and cons you list, this decision will not become easier and will thus lead to poor decision making, like allowing a friend or a trusted parent to make your decisions for you. Emotion driven decision making is also healthy to exercise when you are doing something impromptu, such as planning a new vacation or wanting to do something fresh - because living everything with reason can often lead to drainage of your energy when it really shouldn't be. I think a particularly crucial time for emotion based decision making is when you are trying to make significant lifestyle changes or are getting over some big changes in life, such as moving to a new city or leaving a significant other. In those cases, it is tough to see the light at the end of the tunnel and oftentimes make some choices based on how you feel, can you help determine more efficiently what will eventually lead to a logical new path of happiness.

So yes, in some cases people who make decisions based on emotion and then justify those decision may be poor decision makers if they are just trying to convince themselves into the wrong things, but more often that not, what is right and wrong is highly dependent on the person, on the situation and how commensurate this decision is to someone's life.