Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

The author of this issue states that young people should be told to follow realistic, likely goals rather than follow their own selfish visions for what they want to accomplish. Although I agree that goals can often be self-centered, I don't see the harm in focusing on oneself. That is how we ultimately create the morals, values and lifestyle that we live by. By contrast, I largely disagree that young people should be focused on picking worthy goals. Allowing young people to follow their dreams allows them to be innovative and leads to some of the most interesting and successful products and ideas today. By forcing them to focus on realistic, worthy goals, we are cutting off our own society's ability to grow and continue to learn from the ideation of the young, without which our community will stagnate and be left behind. Having said that I think "following their dreams" can be modified "to helping them follow their dreams by setting realistic goals".

I would like to first address why the reasoning makes sense and is perfectly okay to have. Many would argue that it's important to think about the community first, however in goal setting it's more important that you are accomplishing what you want, in turn living a happy live with the values and ideals you want. And in fact, a lot of times, these selfish dreams allow for the building of such ubiquitous ideas in our society. Take the example of YouTube - a "selfish" community where people had a dream of sharing some knowledge or some talent to the rest of the world. If hundreds of people didn't have the dream to spread their wisdom, YouTube wouldn't exist and we wouldn't be able to teach ourselves something in such a short amount of time or gain inspiration from creatives so quickly. Additionally, the average human being wouldn't have the ability to create an impact on society; that would be left to the most elite of our community. We can also see this in the fitness community, where thousands of female fitness gurus started with the selfish goal of losing weight and looking good in the clothing they wear to then building this community and brand around themselves, helping other women also lose weight and feel accomplished. Although the dream may look selfish at first glance, you just never really know what ulterior problems could be solved through these young people.

There are so many lifestyles a person can live now that if we hinder these dreams, in fact our society will further fall into the trap of having young people with different medical diseases, depression, and increased stress. In this day and age, where there are so many different career paths and we have seen success in so many different forms, it's okay to not push young people into a certain direction or career path. It's okay to embrace this sense of newness and be vulnerable to change.

Having said that, the one problem I see with this claim is the loftiness or having no sense of direction. For this reason, I think the claim can be slightly different in that it should be "follow your dreams, but with heed". What I mean by this is we should both allow young people the freedom to think and follow the dreams they want, but we should also instill in them values to be able to set realistic goals and be adaptable to failure, which will indefinitely happen on the path of a new venture. This could mean helping a young person train daily for a certain sport or have a course on leadership in the classroom where they learn from speakers who were able to pick themselves up after failure. Overall, we shouldn't hinder the dreams of young people, but in fact we should encourage them and find strategies and techniques to make these ventures more successful. This not only a benefit for the selfish needs of an individual but also may contribute to society in some way as it has in the past.