An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The argument states that, in response to vitamin A deficiency in the impoverished nation of Tagus, International development organisation has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. The argument has many flaws and is devoid of evidences to support the argument.

First of all, the argument fails to mention the overall percentage of people deficient in vitamin A. there is no sign of whether the entire population of Tagus has been checked medically to confirm the statement. also whether the deficiency was identified due to a common deficiency disease. it is mentioned that the staple food of the people of Tagus was millets. if the new variety is rich in vitamin A, then what was the problem with the old variety which the people were consuming? there is no clear picture of the distinction between the 2 varieties of millets mentioned in the argument. there is a mention about the cost of the new type of millet being high and that farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millets. but there is no mention about the farming land and the number of farmers. whether the same farmers will used to cultivate the new variety is a big question mark.

also whether new land will be provided or the same farming land of the old variety will be utilized? The weather and the nature of fertility of the soil for farming are also not mentioned. also, if the deficiency is leading to an emergency situations, then action has to be taken immediately. How long will it take for the new millet to be produced by farming? what will happen to the people of Tagus till then? will they not undergo any serious medical conditions? what is the guarantee that the new variety will yield good results? there is no mention about whether the new variety of millets have been administered and found to be productive and usable? The answers for the above questions are not answered in the argument.

also, it could be argued that will only another variety of millet produce significant change in the levels of vitamin ? can ' t there be any other solution to the given problem? there could be many other foods which are a rich source of vitamin A. people could be asked to try that also. Instead of asking the government to do everything to promote the new variety of millet, the government should also focus on the alternate ways of getting rid of vitamin A deficiency .

To close, it can be stated that there are no evidence to support that the new variety of millet will bring down vitamin A deficiency. also, the government should not restrict itself to a single method but also look for other alternatives. farming conditions also play a vital part in bringing the best outcome of a product. Thus the above evidence supports the argument cannot hold in a stringent way.