An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument claims that introducing the new type of millet which is high in Vitamin A shall combat their deficiency in Vitamin A. In order to support this claim, they have stated that the farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety and the government shall do everything to promote it. In order to evaluate the recommendation made, it is necessary to look into the unstated assumptions that the argument depends on.

Firstly, will the new type of millet grow on the native soil? For example, it is possible that the millet seeds which are high in Vitamin A might not grow properly in the native soil. Maybe when they genetically modified the seed they did not check whether it would grow in the soil. Soil differs from place to place. Only when it grow in their soil, will they be able to harvest the millet and consume it. If this is true, then the argument is faulty.

Secondly, Are the subsidies given by the government enough for the farmers to start farming with the new type of millet? For instance, it is possible that the cost of farming the new type of millet is more than the subsidies given by the government, then, it is possible that the farmers shall not accept the offer and prefer farming with the old type of millet. Then the recommendation is not valid. In such case, the argument is faulty.

It is possible that the people of Tagus had figured out a cheaper way to combat their vitamin A deficiency. Maybe the farmers had changed their eating habits by eating other vegetables which are cheaper than the new type of millet and also rich in vitamin A. If this is true then the farmers will obviously not opt to farm the new millet, though the government is giving them subsidies. In such a case, the argument is faulty and unsound.

Thus, answering the above questions would would help us decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted results. This shall help us see whether the above recommendation is possible or not.