"Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year's unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that economic recession play an important role in reduction of fitness level among people at Corpora County. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious.

First, the author of argument contends that medical experts allege that few people take advantages of fitness standards rather than twenty years ago, which half of people were saturated with fitness standards. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since it is established beyond doubt that everything is changing day in day out. Indeed, the situations and conditions were not identical in twenty years ago. Perhaps the number of population increase drastically during these years that in such case fitness standards could not be affordable. Or perhaps government provide an opportunity for people to use fitness standards in past years. It is also important to say that maybe medical experts make a mistake about using fitness standards or maybe the fitness standards are too old and people are not interested in using them.

The author also asserts that the experts offer wrong idea when they pointed out that using computers will diminish fitness level. Although it might seems tenable at face, it has some defects. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that sedentary lifestyle will cause not only decline in fitness level but also various problem such as heart disease, obesity and so forth. In fact, it has proved by scholars that spending too much time sitting in front of computers is a main reason of not using fitness standards due to the fact that people spend their precious time in social networks, playing, watch movies and so forth. Alongside that, the author does not provide any information or data to show that based on what factors experts' suggestion could not be reliable and accurate.

Finally, as set forth by the author the level of using computers is high in corpora region where the level of using fitness standards is high. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to the fact that computers will provide an opportunity for people to gain crowds of information about fitness. In fact, maybe they use computers in order to download fitness video programs. Moreover, perhaps people do their other works like banking transaction, book a ticket and so on, along with using fitness standards.

Having scrutinized all the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that the author has ignored the number of assumption the presence of which could strengthen the author claim.