Milk and dairy products are rich in vitamin D and calcium — substances essential for building and maintaining bones. Many people therefore say that a diet rich in dairy products can help prevent osteoporosis, a disease that is linked to both environmental and genetic factors and that causes the bones to weaken significantly with age. But a long-term study of a large number of people found that those who consistently consumed dairy products throughout the years of the study have a higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants in the study. Since bone fractures are symptomatic of osteoporosis, this study result shows that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis.

The author of this argument claims that a diet rich in dairy products may actually increase, rather than decrease, the risk of osteoporosis. However, readers need further proof to verify the argument offered by the author.

First of all, the author claims that there is a long-term study of a large number of people, and found that these people with consistently consumed dairy products will have higher rate of bone fractures than any other participants. However, this observation might be insufficient because the author didn’t indicate the precise number of people that being observed and the percentage of people who has the symptom of bone fractures. Furthermore, the average age is also another important factor. As a consequence, the author has to indicate the precise number of people and age group that he studied.

Second, the study mentioned that those people consume more dairy products will have a higher rate of bone fractures. Yet the study didn’t inform us how much dairy they consume. For instance, one meal contains a cup of milk or must having cheese for the breakfast. This evidence of these habit will strengthen the study and really help readers to prevent from the osteoporosis.

Third, the author fails to consider all the possible factors that caused the osteoporosis. The frequency of doing exercise might also be an important problem for the risk of getting osteoporosis. That is to say for some teenager, they don’t like the dairy product and lack of exercise, then they get the osteoporosis. Considering that the osteoporosis is a disease that is linked in both environmental and genetic factors, the study can’t deny the impact of the exercise. Furthermore, what if these group of people born with osteoporosis gene, so it’s obviously that they have more possibility to getting osteoporosis, but the study still count them as a normal person.

To sum up, the author needs to provide more details or evidence of these group of people to convince the readers. In particular the details of age group and their daily routine of diet, frequency of doing exercise, and the most important one, if they born with osteoporosis or whether their parents have the osteoporosis or not. These evidences will strength the statement and help readers to exam themselves, if they match few points of the study then they should pay more attention of the risk of getting osteoporosis.