Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The next franchise of Nature’s Way, the chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening in the town of Plainsville. The arguer makes sure that it should be very successful according to a series of assumptions on basis of the seemingly bias for healthy of the residents. However, the argument is flawed by those unwarranted assumptions, and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

First of all, the arguer deduces there are a large amount of local sports enthusiast by citing the merchants report sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. However, the sales report might be irrelevant with the conclusion. Perhaps the sport products in Plainsville are renowned all over the country and attract customers living far away. Perhaps the residents are fond of the design style of running shoes and exercise clothing as they are also comfortable and convenient in recent life. Therefore, the report lends little support to the arguer’s prediction that the new franchise will make an equally high sale there.

Moreover, the argument rests on the assumption that the popular health club and the always full classes for presumption that the new store will success as the club does. It is true that the weight training and aerobics classes are full at most time, but the odds are that the other kinds of exercise might be less attractive to the residents as well as the healthy food. In that case, there might not be a large demand for the health food or health-product which will be mainly sold in the new store. Without ruling these possibilities, the assumption could not be justified that new branch of Nature’s Way should be very successful, and consequently the arguer’s inference is unpersuasive.

Besides, the program for schoolchildren, referred by arguer to prove the potential demand of healthy products, will boost the store business in the future. The assumption fails to provide complete information concerning the program locally. Perhaps the program would be stopped in the next years. Considering those children need at least ten years, nobody can portend what will happen. Without taking into these possibilities, the assumption is untenable.

In sum, the validity of the assumption, that the new franchise may achieve success, is severely weaken by several unsubstantiated assumptions to the process of reasoning. To better evaluate the argument, the arguer should make deeper investigation to figure out the specific variety of sports or exercises are enjoyed locally or other customs rather than the potential trends or actually uncertain facts.