The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the recommendation, the arguer suggests Monarch Books to open a café by discontinuing the children’s book section in order to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Book. To support the recommendation, he/she makes an assumption with the cite of the recent national census which indicating a significant decrease in the percentage of the population under age ten. Plausible as the argument seems, without definite answers to the following questions.

First of all, the first assumption is made on the original large customer base of the bookstore. The arguer insists that it is clear that the new café would get more people’s attention. However, the specific reason that why café has such a function of a store’s business is not presented in the argument. Additionally, not everyone is interested in café, for example, the people who are not fond of coffee or dislike its strong smell. Without taking those questions into consideration, the arguer’s recommendation cannot be conclusively drawn.

Moreover, it is claimed that new café could better compete with another store which has already done before. First, the argument provides no evidence that more people are attracted to Regal Books by café. Besides, even if Regal Books becomes more attractive to the customers, we are not informed of whether the method is equally efficient for Monarch Books. Without answering these questions, the arguer’s recommendation is untenable.

The last but not least, its biggest attraction depicted by the arguer as the wide selection of books on all subjects, which will be deteriorated after reducing the children section. Therefore, the argument cites a recent national census that the amount of children under age ten is not as high as before so that children’s section is not needed, but it lacks the data concerning the faction of children in this area, actually we cannot determine if the business of Monarch Books will be influenced. What is more, as a result of disappearing of children section, the parents keeping company with their children will reduce time coming to this store as well. Consequently, unless the questions can be solved, the recommend of raising store’s attraction is useless.

In conclusion, the recommendation of opening new café which substituting the children section could provide information and potentially appearing to more customers, but, unfortunately, it is unpersuasive as it stands. Before conclusion, the questions such as the function of new café, the influence of deleting children section should be assured. After all, a new café could be dangerous for the store as it may lose neither customer nor money.