"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Not only does television play a pivotal role in awareness of people through news programs, but also affect businesses through advertisements. Thus, it is important for television station to manage its programs and allocate beneficial time to every program due to increase its efficiency. In this regard, one of the tv stations have chosen to allot more time to national news and less time to weather and local news. However, this way, they had financial loss through losing their local business’ advertising. also, they received complaints from viewers concerned with coverage of weather and local news. Now, a controversial question which is raised toward this issue is whether it is better for tv station to restore the time devoted to programs to their former level or continue its current policy.

The first condition is that tv station changes its current policy and come back to its former programs times. In this situation, it can attract the attention of its viewers and avoid losing any further advertising revenue, but, maybe lacking of time for national news program would be occurred and tv station cannot cover all the news properly. As a result, this strategy could not be effective for this tv station and getting back revenues and former viewers cannot compensate their losing popularity as a good tv for covering decent and widespread news.

On the other hand, I assume that local news and informing weather condition are as important as national news and any other programs. Therefore, the tv should allocate specific and appropriate time to these significant programs. In addition, advertisements have a major role in televisions’ income, so, without this essential part, tv stations cannot continue their work probably.

As a conclusion, I believe that tv station is better to choose the third way for both compensating its revenue and viewer loss and covering the national news in order to do its best. As an instance, it can reduce the time of unimportant programs and instead increase the time of the last-night news program.