"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument given is having many fallacies one can prove it. As there is no proper statistics, numbers, percentiles mentioned for the conclusion. They should have given more proper statements to finalize the decision.

First of all they said "late-night news" this lesser the number of viewers. As compared to day time viewers late night will definitely in lesser amount. So review count of argument will automatically drop. It might have happened that people started sleeping early while some were complaining about the station coverage. All these information is not provided.

Another one is that about local businesses that used to advertise late night would have though to cut done their spending on late night ads as small number of people watch them. They might have thought to invest that bugs in some other way of advertisement.

However, its not the correct decision to restore the time dedicated to weather and local news. News channels can find out way so they can cover all local news within time spam. Or may be just they have missed important news from local station which should have been covered. because of this people might found that news are missing. So they need to focus on which news is more important over another.

So considering above points there are many loopholes in the argument. Final decision should not be taken on given statement, as they required more absolute review and study before made the final decision.