A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author's statements on the responsible factors that made the pets fall ill seems flawed. Many statements are stated but proper relation is not able to be drawn between them. There are several loop holes that has to addressed. As per the statements, proper reasons for both the pet food company and the consumers who used it has to be given to strengthen their arguments.

Firstly, the pet food company is testing four million recalled food samples that the consumers are complaining that the pets are falling ill seems to have a small loop hole. Here what is number of complaints lodged against is not evinced. Without this, recalling four million pounds on pet food seems futile. It is also not given that how many pets fell diseased when consumed such food. It may be likely that few products might have expired and hence it made the animals become sick. Since no scale is given of how many pets fell ill and how many consumers used this product, recalling four million becomes pointless.

Secondly, the company is stating that the testing has proved that the chemicals used in the food are approved chemicals and also concluding that this consumption has not caused the animals to fall ill. It may be likely the the food chemical combination, during its production might have varied and this variation has caused the pets fall ill. Proper way to test in this case may be to do tests on blood samples of the pets rather than recalling the pet foods. Hence, no proper conclusion can be drawn here without corroborations.

Thirdly, the consumers who lodged the complaints are stating that due to the consumption of such pet food the animals are falling ill and lethargic. On first hand they are not stating the diet routine of the pets. It may be likely that these pets are left free in the ground for sometime and at this time it might has consumed something which is noxious and this might have caused them fall ill. They are not stating that the animals solely depend on this pet food. Without the evidence of the pets diet routine, the complaint that the product had made the pets fall ill is not palatable.

Thus, in total the statements of proofs from both the company that manufactures the pet food and the pet food consumers seems facile. Still greater and deeper study has to be made to understand why the animals fell sick and their diet routine. Without sufficient proofs, the conclusion stated is not acceptable.