A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has

increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city

restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of this argument states that seafood consumption in Bay City restaurants has gone higher in the past five years, so the new Captain Seafood restaurant should me welcomed well and make good profit. Lack of other seafood-specialized restaurants has been presented to support this argument. The habit of eating out yet healthy exercised by two-income families are also presented as an evidence behind the argument. However, the reasoning behind the argument is very faulty and weak, making the conclusion far-fetched, due to lack of three specific evidences.

Firstly, the author assumes that the consumption of seafood dishes has increased without regarding the issue of increasing population. More people means more consumers available in the market who might be eager to rececive the service. If previouly 100 people consumed seafood and now the number has risen upto 130, on account of increasing population in the city, the 30% increase stated in the passage does not indicate any significant variable other than increase in population. No population consensus has been presented to rule out the possibility of increased seafood consumption simply resulting from increasing number of customers. There is no evidence that states that the consumption rate was calculated with proper consideration of population growth. The statistics presented in the prompt might be invalid, weakening the prompt as it does not take the effect of increasing population into account.

Secondly, the seafood served in Bay City restaurants are assumed to be the only healthy food the two-income families can avail. In other words, such families inclination towards eating healthy food does not necessarily mean they want to consume seafood. There are many other dishes considered healthy- containing vegetables, fishes, useful fat and lean meat, which are also served in many restaurants. No evidence presents that people in general consider seafood as their only option of healthy food. To attribute this research to the conclusion made in the prompt provided does not seem germane at all.

Finally, the proclivity of people towards seafood is presented as the only evidence to state that the new Captain Seafood restaurant should conduct profitable business. This is not the only factor that determined whether some restaurant will thrive or not, taste, quality, service, price, location - all of these are vital factors that contributes to the popularization of a food place. If the restaurant is located in a remote area, it will not have enough customers even if the food is good. Even if the food is cheap, people will not get food from a place that is known to serve day-old foods. To consider only one parameter in determining a restaurants success in the future weakens the argument to a great extent.

The lack of evidences presented above show that the argument presented is fundamentally flawed. If evidences regarding people's choice of food, the price etc parameters were presented that would provide more strength to the prompt. So more evidences should be gathered before ruling the establishment of the new Captain Seafood restaurant as a successful future endeavour.