A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to the questions would help to evaluate the conclusion.

The argument tells that new Captain Seafood restaurant will be quite popular and profitable based on recent sales study. There are many questions which should be answered in order to evaluate the argument. The answers to these questions helps in supporting or undermining the argument.

Firstly, Is the recent sales study results are accurate and who conducted the recent sales study? Is the sales study done by reputed organization? The answers to these questions helps in determining the validity of the sales study results. The recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafoods in Bay City restaurant has increased by 30 percent during past five years. There is no evidence that consumption of sea food in new Captain Seafood restaurant will also increase by same amount. Because, people will not generally prefer new restaurants. If people do not like sea food in new Restaurant, they will not prefer going there. Moreover, sales study did not indicate other factors which affected the increase in consumption of sea foods in Bay Restaurant. It may be the case where the costs are cheaper in the Bay City restaurants and people prefer going there. If the people surveyed in the recent study are large enough to represent general population, then it offers some support to the conclusion.

Nationwide study states that two-income families which constitute majority of families in Bay City prefer fewer home-cooked meals. Secondly, If the two-income families in Bay city prefer eating fewer-cooked meals, then does that mean they prefer eating Sea food in restaurants. If they do not prefer eating sea food, then it undermines the validity of the argument. If they prefer eating sea food in any Bay City restaurant, then it offers support for the argument.

Thirdly, how can the author be sure that new Seafood restaurant will be profitable when majority of families express more concern about healthful eating? Indeed, when people are more health conscious, then they avoid eating Seafood in restaurants. In this case, the new Captain Seafood will not be profitable and it undermines the conclusion.

If the above few questions are answered, then it helps in deciding whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based is reasonable.