A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring.

The above argument is based on the fact that, "the species of monkeys show similar trait to that of the human firstborns, therefore they are closest to humans in the evolution.", this is not based on the firm grounds as it does not have a loogical approach.

Firstly, It has been represented in a national medical report that the first time human mother does not have high cortisol levels but the first human born has. On the other hand, in rhesus monkeys the first time mother and the first born have high cortisol levels. Understanding the above situation the the reason to have high cortisol levels in both the new borns is different otherwise the entire process would have been the same.

Secondly, similar rise in the cortisol levels in the first born is represented in the chimpanses and apes but they do not show rise in the levels of cortisol in the mother, so we can conclude that they are close to the human species and rhemus species is far away. Moreover we need to understand that the closeness of species of evolution can not be just based on the outcomeof a single hormone alot of other things have to be noticed.

Thirdly, the humans in many states in USA have shown rised cortisol levels in the younger siblings too, this exception represents the fact the above recommendation is just based on a coincidence.

To conclude, the closeness of this species to the human race is not based on the firm grounds and it does not look at the different aspet of the picture they just foucs on the half of the picture and it results in the inappropriate understanding of the formation of the cortisol in both the species.