A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument states that tooth level decay is lower in Nepal when compared to the united states' sub-urban areas.

Firstly, the explanation provided does not consider various factors like diet, altitude, lifestyle, standard of living and son on. To illustrate, the diet of sub-urban children can contain chemicals which accelerate tooth decay in contrast to the children of Nepal. It is also possible that the parents in Nepal are more restrictive on the eating habits of their children when compared to the United states.

Secondly, the argument presents regarding visits to the dentist. The paragraph assumes that all the people who visit a dentist is to obtain treatment for tooth decay but people visit the dentist for various reasons such as crowded teeth or tooth removal. Additionally, people may also visit the dentist for a routine checkup. It is also possible that there are very few dental clinics in sub-urban areas and more clinics are required to meet the demand.

The argument also presents a fact that people in the mountainous regions in nepal receive very little professional dental care. However, it does not prove that there are no dental problems with the nepalese. Nepalese could be using traditional medicine to treat tooth decay and visit a doctor only when the traditional medicine is not effective.

In summary, Although it is possible that the children of United states have higher possibility of tooth decay than Nepal, it cannot be stated that regular dental care is un