A recent study indicates that children living in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal have lower levels of tooth decay than children living in suburban areas in the United States, despite the fact that people in the Himalayan mountain region in Nepal receive little to no professional dental care, while people in suburban areas in the United States see a dentist an average of 1.25 times per year. Thus, regular dental care is not helpful in preventing tooth decay.

In the context, the author concludes that seeing the dentist regularly doesn't help to prevent the tooth decay of a person. To supplemental his logics behind the conclusion, he provides evidence by comparing the Himalayan mountain region childs & the U.S.A suburban childs. He cites that as the U.S.A childs did not get any improvement for tooth decay after consulting the doctor while the Nepal childs have less without seeing the doctor, it could be proven that the doctors dont play any major role. However, intensive scrutiny view of his evidence telltalling that there is copius amount of loopholes in the evidence which has made the argument unwarranted. Therefore, the argument can be considered as unpersuasive currently.

Firstly, the author is equivocal about the method of the U.S.A childs that how they care about thier tooths. It might be happened that they just went through to the doctor but did not maintain the prescribed medic the doctor told them. It also could be the cause that either the toothpaste they use is not good one or they did not follow their doctor's instructions.Besides this, the author is not mentioned the actual number that how many people went to the dentist. It might be happened that a short percentage of them went 1.25 times to the doctor & other did not care about it. Hence , without having this clarification the argument is quite vague.

Additionally, the author agian is not clear the specific amount of number that how many childs are facing less tooth decay in Nepal than U.S.A. It might be happen that the less amount is nearly amount less than 10 which is not a big issue. Another fact is about the enviroment & the eating chart of the two regions people. The author did not state anything about this though it is a major issue. For example, it might be happened that U.S.A people ate more meat than Nepal people so they need more tooth care which they are not concern about. On the other hand it could also be happened that the enviroment has impact on the tooth. So this facts need to be cleared before givnig the statement.

Lastly, a complete survey on the people who maintain doctor's instructions yet they faced tooth decay would help to reinforce the argument. Another important survey need to be conduct that about what percentage the tooth decay is less in the Nepal. If this data is available it will be convival to judge the argument & if the differnce percentage is huge it would strength the argument to the author side.

In summary, the argument is unsubstantiated as it stands with this porous evidences.To butress it further, the author must provide comcrete evidence perhaps by conducting a survey on the U.S.A people or comparing the number of that two region.