To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area.

The author of the argument claim that the WWAC must have changed to a news and talk format from its current rock-music format in order to increase the number of listeners. To support his view he says that the decline has resulted mainly because many people that have migrated, have all retired from their jobs and people have limited interest in music.

To determine the validity of the argument we must understand whether by switching to a news and talk format from current rock-music format will increase the popularity in their area and also understand whether the people have limited interest in music or not.

First, the author says that they should change their current rock-music format without carrying out an accurate survey in its listening area asking people what are the main reasons for their transition to the other channels. In order to support his argument, some detailed analyses should be carried out in the form of a survey.

Second, he says that the growth has resulted mainly from the elderly people and might have lacked interest in the rock-music format but failed to provide any evidence regarding his cliam. The older can also like rock music as we know age has no bar.

Likewise, the only explanation provided for changing to news and talk show is that the number of local sales of music have gone down and assuming that the people have started to find limited interest in them but, there might be other reasons like increase in piracy or limited sources for buying music, etc. Also, there is no guarantee that there news and music show would go hit because people may like a particular radio jockey and this might be the reason for its success.

In sum, we can say that the author's claim is based on the uncleared and unsubstantiated assumption. In order to evaluate the validity of the argument, we need more data and information regarding the point mentioned in the argument. To make the argument stronger the author must outline the real reason why the number of listener are declining for WWAC