"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the given passage, the author contents that the usage of salicylates can be expected to ebb the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Manta. The author enumerates several factors to espouse the claim. Salicylates are used to treat headaches, and food processing companies have been adding the chemical a lot as the function of preservatives. This can be supported by twenty-year study. Also, the food-processing companies have started to used salicylates as flavor additives for foods. Despite the argument sounds plausible, copious logical flaws are presented; the writing needs to be revised to become irrefutable.

The first point the author indicates is salicylates are used to be a medicine to heal headaches. The hidden meaning is that the medicine is not used anymore in nowadays, and we can infer many different reasons why it is not no longer available such as too much burden on liver or different severe side effects. In order to convince salicylates are still feasible, the writer needs to elucidate the reason why the retired drug - salicylates - is not used any longer in modern days.

In addition, we need to be wary to not be fooled from the sentence “twenty-year research which proved the correlation between the usage of salicylates and reduced headache reports among participants.” The sentence leads equivocal understanding. Twenty-years research does not guarantee the quality and reliability of the research. It could be done occasionally without meticulous efforts for twenty years. Even more, attributes of participants are not mentioned. From the passage, the readers cannot extrapolate any preconditions that participants had such as the age, health status, gender, or particular foods they eat. By bolstering the research with detailed explanation is going to give more credential.

Lastly, regardless of truth of correlation between salicylates and milder headaches, no pellucid explanation is provided about citizens of Mentia. How the author convince and expect that residents of Mentia is going to suffer less from the headaches because of salicylates? Any information about residents of Mentia is not given. We can assume that Mentia people may suffer from the headaches, and this why the author argues that Mentia people can be healed from consumption of salicylates indirectly. However, characteristics of Mentia people should be explained more in detail; the innate attributes of the people, the average age, differences of the city, type of foods people enjoy to eat chiefly. After the author elucidates the uniqueness of Mentia people, the relationship between less suffrage from headache and salicylates usage can be construed.

To sum up, the argument is based on peccable points which the author made in the passage, and it is not trustworthy. In order to deliver more limpid and appealing statement, the author should expunge all inflammatory points and render petulant evidences why the people of Mentia are expected to have declined number of headaches.