"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and

concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village

rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children

living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more

time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This

research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid

and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The

interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will

establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other

island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the

argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument that observation centered approach to studying cultures is invalid and that interview centered approach would establish a more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions in Tertia and in other island cultures, is based on a lot of assumptions and is flawed at several positions.

The author tells us that Dr Field made several observations which led him to conclude that the children of Tertia were reared by the village people at large instead of their own biological parents. The specific observations on which the conclusion was based are not disclosed to us. If we had clue about what these observations were, we could strengthen or weaken the argument accordingly. If Dr Field would have made a very extensive set of observations spending time on the entire community and noticing the moves and behaviors of children at each point of time and how they were spending their days and their nights, then the author's claim that observation based study was invalid could be definitely weakened. But, if the doctor's observations were based on behavioral patterns of just few children and were generalized to all the children of Tertia, then we could definitely support the author's claim of observation centered approach.

Another aspect is that according the the author, the interviews were conducted for children of a group of islands including Tertia and it was found that they kept talking about biological parents which helped to understand child-rearing traditions more effectively. If we had the evidence of how many children belonging to Tertia were present for the interview and what kind of questions were asked, could we justify the argument. Let us say, if only a few children from Tertia were picked up for an interview or the range of questions asked were not enough to support the stand of child-rearing traditions, the author's argument about the interview centered approach would turn out to be wrong. But, if it was the case where a lot of children were covered from Tertia, the interview questions were all relevant and their answers helped to deduce that they were more close to their biological parents, then, we could raise a question on the observation centered approach of the doctor and support the author's claim instead.

Hence, as the argument is based on several unwarranted assumptions , it fails to make a convincing case about which approach would be more accurate to study child-rearing traditions and other island cultures.