"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

In the preceding statement, the author asserts that Adam Realty is better than Fitch when some want to sell their house to get as many benefits as possible. The author makes a claim coming from a comparative about the number of agents, average revenue and the time needed to sell a house. The argument may seem quite tenable at first glance. However, it is not entirely logically convincing, when it ignores several certain crucial assumptions.

First, the writer claims that Adam real estate company is definitely superior to Fitch because it has more 15 agents and longer working hours. Although It could be mean that Adam Realty will have more investigation carried out and find more clients, it could be mean that the size of Adam Realty is bigger than Fitch. However, the quality of a company is evaluated by many factors except the number of its agents such as service quality, working efficiency and warranty must be taken into consideration, too.

Secondly, the argument offers the revenue of each company to implicit that the average home sales for Adams are better than Fitch one last year, 168000 and 144000 respectively. Nevertheless, it is no doubt that the house price is greatly affected by the locations. There is an assumption that the houses sold by Fitch were located in rural areas. So if Adam focuses on areas or big cities, we cannot claim that Adam is better. It would be more rational to compare the number of houses sold instead of average profits.

Last but not least, the argument is not completely sound. The evidence about the time need to sell a house in support of the conclusion is not sufficient to buttress the conclusion of argument because the author asserts his house was sold by Adams in only one month, while Fitch took 4 months ten years ago. The assumption here is that the two houses sold were equal quality and the market was the same too. However, it is obvious that after 10 year's development, the area in which the author lives have changed considerably, perhaps it is becoming more attractive to house buyers. What's more, if the second house was in much better condition compared to the first one, it would undoubtedly be more attractive. Thus the author's argument based on his experiment in non-persuasive at all.

Moreover, the argument might be strengthened by offering more information about the number of houses sold last year by each company, the statistic about the time needed for a house to be sold by each agent during the same period.

In conclusion, due to the above pieces of evidence, although the writer mentioned some factors that contribute to a better realty agent, the reasons are not deeply investigated or cover full of assumptions. As a result, the author needs scrutiny and thorough analysis can assert which real estate firm, Adam or Fitch, is better.