Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Based on the fact that radio station WCPQ in Rockville has increased its audience sharing since it increased the numver of call-in advice programs two year ago and that a nationwide survey indicated that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, a manger of KICK radio station claim that KICK radio station should increase more call in advice programs to gain a larger audience share in its listening area. This argument include several dubious assumption and therefore, ins convincing as it stands.

First, this recommendation is questionable in that it does not answer the issue of what really caused the increase on the WCQP’s audience share. Is it because of the increase of so-called call-in advice program? While the manager, basing on the fact that WCQP’s success followed broadcasting of the programs, assumes that inclusion of the format itself is the true case cause, there could be numerous other factors that actually explain the success. Perhaps, WCQP’s expansion of the audience might be the result of moving for many people toward the listening area of the WCQP radio station or changing from boring DJ to interesting DJ. Even, competition diminished because of bankruptcy of other radio station. Without answering to these possibilities, this recommendation is hardly persuasive.

Second, the manager of KICK also fails to provide an effective answer to the question of whether audience groups of Rockville and Medway share commonality in their tastes. Although they may resemble each other, it is possible that Medway’s residents have a numver of totally different traits from people of Rockville. Unlike the qudence group of Rockville, most rado listeners of Medway may be those who preger the traditional radio program formats such as local news, light chattering, or music programs. Without knowing the nature of Medway audiences, we cannot evaluate the relevance of the manager’s reasoning.

Thirdly, this recommendation should also explain away the possibility that Medway’s potential radio audience group is not typical of the nationwide audience. The simple fact that there has been a significant increase in the number of people interested in the call-in advice programs the across the country does not guarantee that residents of Medway also have been interested in the format of radio program. In order to evaluate it better, we need to know if the listeners of KICK are representative of the whole nation.

Finally even conceding that Medway listeners are typical of the country, this argument also omits the proper answer to another question; will the taste of the current listeners remain unchanged in the near future? Common sense tells us that fashions and passions are generally ephemeral. Though the radio’s call-in adcive programs gained popularity for the past two years, we don not know if it will last for a significant time in the future. To evaluate the wisdom of this recommendation, we also need to know about the trait of the listeners around the region of Medway.

To sum, this argument is poorly persuasive and thus as it stands. To evaluate it better, we need to be infoemed about actual case of the success WCQP has made and the nature of Medway’s radio listeners-are they similar to those of Rockville? Can they represent the national trend? And, will their current passion remain unchanged in the near future?